How to Forget WiFi Network

How to Forget a WiFi Networks

There are times when forgetting a wi-fi network you frequently connect to using a Windows 10 computer needs to be forgotten. It could be because you are trying to fix a connection issue or simply to remove access to the network. This article provides step by step instructions on how to forget a network in Windows 10.

Step by Step on How to Forget a Network in Windows 10

Step 1: Locate the network icon on Windows taskbar. Usually located near the clock.

Step 2: Right click on the network icon and select Open Network & Internet Settings.

forget network in windows 10 network icon

Step 3: Click on Wi-Fi

wi-fi settings for forgetting a network

Step 4: Click on Manage Known Networks

manage known networks

Step 5: Locate the network you want the computer the forget. Click on it and select Forget Network.

forget network

That’s it. Your computer will now request to type in a password when you try to connect to the network next time. These steps are very useful when you are connected to a network but it is not giving you Internet access. If this is the case you are facing, restart the computer after forgetting the network and this should enable Internet connection once you log back into the network.

How to forget a wi-fi network on your iPhone and iPad

While in range of the wi-fi network you want to forget, you can do so right on your iPhone.

  1. Launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap Wi-Fi.
  3. Tap the info button next to the wi-fi network you want to forget. It looks like a lower-case I.Tap Settings, then tap Wi-Fi, then tap a network
  4. Tap Forget This Network.
  5. Tap Forget when prompted to confirm you want to forget the network.Tap Forget Network, then tap Forget to confirm

 

How to stop automatically joining a network

I have multiple access points in my household so I can, for example, allow guests to join my wifi. Sometimes, however, my devices will default to a network I don’t want to be on. In iOS 11 and higher, disabling auto-joining a network will stop your iPhone or iPad from joining a network you want to keep in your settings, but don’t necessarily want to join every time. When in range of the wi-fi network, follow the steps below.

UFC 247: Stream Jones vs. Reyes live on ESPN+ tonight

  1. Launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap Wi-Fi.Tap Settings, then tap Wi-Fi
  3. Tap the info button next to the wi-fi network you want to forget. It looks like a lower-case I.
  4. Turn the Auto-Join switch off.Tap a network, then turn off auto join

 

How to find out if a wi-fi network is available in range

If you want to know what wi-fi networks are within range, you can receive a notification asking if you want to join or not. You’ll never be automatically connected to an unknown network, whether you’re receiving these notifications or not, but this setting will help you discover networks you can join.

  1. Launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap Wi-Fi.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and turn the Ask to Join Networks switch on.Tap Settings, then tap Wi-Fi, then turn on Ask to Join

If you’ve previously joined a network, you’ll be automatically connected again when you are within range, whether this setting is enabled or not.

Forget a WiFi network in Android

This is one of those areas in which Android got it perfect. To delete a saved Wifi network from your phone or tablet, all you need to do is go to the Wifi section of your settings menu. Find the network you want to get rid of. Long press it, then chose “Forget.” (There’s also a “modify” option, which mostly is a nice way to change the Wifi password saved on your device.)

Forget a Wireless Network in Mac OS X

How do I forget a Network within Mac OS X?

Follow the instructions below to learn how to forget a wireless network in OS X if you have recently changed your password:

  1. Select the WiFi symbol along the top menu bar and click on Open Network Preferences at the bottom of the drop down menu.
  2. Click on WiFi in the menu on the left and click Advanced located at the bottom right of the pop-up window.
  3. Select eduroam and click the minus sign. Click OK.
  4. At the top right-hand click on Turn Wifi Off and click on Apply. Click on Turn Wifi On and reconnect.

 

Sources:

  Free Tech Support / By /

https://imore.com

https://dummytech.com

https://Androidcentral.com

Advertisements